Skip to content

Telemann: Musique de Table

Original price £57.75 - Original price £57.75
Original price
£57.75 - £57.75
Current price £57.75
Request a quote
partagée en Trois Productions, Hamburg 1733, edited by Reinhard Goebel. Textbook and 7 parts, Series Magdeburger Faksimile Offizin

With the 1733 publication of his Tafelmusik, Telemann completed the crowning trias – that is to say, Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos, Handel’s Concerti grossi (op. 6), and Tafelmusik – of German instrumental music of the Late Baroque. In this three-part cycle, Telemann shows himself at the zenith of his creative power. Each part consists of a series of movements: Ouverture, Quatuor, Concert, Trio, Solo, and Conclusion, in various instrumentations (Flauto dolce, Flauto traversiere, Oboe, Tromba, Strings & Fondamento). One masterwork follows the other, forming a logically built structure. Yet each work can also stand alone.
With the present facsimile edition of the individual parts, Edition Walhall has closed a conspicuous gap, since until now performance material for the Tafelmusik has appeared only in abridged editions. The outstanding printed impression of the first edition is ideally suited for practical use even today.