Skip to content
Welcome to the world's largest source of early musical instruments!
Welcome to the world's largest source of early musical instruments!

Dowland: Collected Lute Music

by Faber
1 review
SKU 0571100392

The Collected Lute Music of John Dowland is an extensive collection of over 100 Fantasies, Pavans, Galliards, Almains, Jigs, Ballads and other tunes by the celebrated Renaissance composer. Transcribed and edited by Diana Poulton and Basil Lam, all pieces are presented in lute tablature and keyboard notation.

An introduction, calendar of dates in the life of John Dowland, biographical notes and a note on the transcriptions are also included at the beginning. 

Customer Reviews
5.0 Based on 1 Reviews
5 ?
4 ?
3 ?
2 ?
1 ?
Write a Review Ask a Question

Thank you for submitting a review!

Your input is very much appreciated. Share it with your friends so they can enjoy it too!

Filter Reviews:
Magnus W.
Norway Norway
A treasure of lute music.

This book is a must have for all Dowland loving luters out there. It includes all the known Dowland solos and duets written out and edited in a way that must have taken painstakingly research. The Tabulature is easy to read and the music is made very clear by the staff notation that is written out above the tabulature. Most importantly there is a good register of all the alternatives found in different manuscripts to some of the ambiguities spots in the music. I feel I could spend my lifetime as a lute player only playing from this book and still be satisfied.