Skip to content

The King's Singers & Fretwork • Tom & Will: Weelkes & Byrd 400 Years (CD)

£12.49 excluding VAT (UK Export Price)

As part of this project, The King’s Singers and Fretwork have commissioned two new works for their joint forces, by two of Britain’s great living composers: Sir James MacMillan and Roderick Williams. These works only feature in the version performed by The King’s Singers and Fretwork, but represent a commitment to keeping the spirit of Byrd and Weelkes alive in today’s musical landscape.


  1. Praise our Lord all ye Gentiles – William Byrd
  2. If Women Could be Fair – William Byrd
  3. Say Dear, When Will Your Frowning Leave – Thomas Weelkes
  4. Like Two Proud Armies – Thomas Weelkes
  5. Pavan No. 3 – Thomas Weelkes
  6. Thule, the Period of Cosmography – Thomas Weelkes
  7. What Joy so True – Thomas Weelkes
  8. In Nomine a4 – Thomas Weelkes
  9. Ye Sacred Muses (1) –  William Byrd
  10. Ye Sacred Muses (2) – James MacMillan
  11. In Nomine a5 (1) – Thomas Weelkes
  12. Hark all ye Lovely Saints Above – Thomas Weelkes
  13. Death Hath Deprived Me – Thomas Weelkes
  14. Death, be not Proud – Roderick Williams
  15. In Nomine a5 (2) – Thomas Weelkes
  16. Who Made Thee Hob – William Byrd
  17. This Sweet and Merry Month of May – William Byrd
  18. Browning (The Leaves Be Green) – William Byrd
  19. Alack, When I Look Back – William Byrd
  20. O Lord Make thy Servant Elizabeth – William Byrd


The King's Singers voices
Fretwork viol consort

SIGCD576 • Released 2023