Skip to content

Roberday: Fugues & Caprices arranged for Viol Quartet

Original price £35.00 - Original price £35.00
Original price
£35.00 - £35.00
Current price £35.00
Request a quote

An arrangement of keyboard pieces by Francois Roberday for 4 viols (TrTr/TTB). First published in 1660, these pieces, primarily for organ, were printed on four separate staves, as was the case for other similar contrapuntal music by Froberger, Frescobaldi.

Each fugue is followed by a variant fugue and often by a caprice where the theme is varied, usually with lively rhythms and syncopations. The second treble part would be ideal for the rare alto viol, but is playable by another treble or tenor.


  • Score
  • Set of Parts (alternative clefs for 2nd part)