Skip to content

Chris Orton & Sören Sieg • Cádiz (CD)

Original price £0.00 - Original price £0.00
Original price £0.00
£14.99 - £14.99
Current price £14.99
Request a quote

Click here to read our blog about this release!

Celebrated recorder player and educator Chris Orton joins forces with composer and pianist Sören Sieg to record a collection of Sieg's music for recorder and piano. Recorded over two days in June 2022 at Sieg's home in Warsaw, the collection contains two African Suites, along with the title suite 'Cádiz', a substantial work with several contrasting movements. Meanwhile, the other shorter works captured on the disc are compositional tellings of personal stories, with 'Ingxhunguphalo' a homage to Sieg's late father, and 'Meditation' a musical response to the war in Ukraine.

Chris Orton is a recorder player, conductor, teacher and Dalcroze Eurhythmics practitioner, who is a tutor of recorder at the Royal Northern College of Music, Royal Birmingham Conservatoire and Chetham's School of Music. He is also chair of ERTA UK and musical director of the National Youth Recorder Orchestras. In 2007 he won first prize in the Moeck/SRP Solo Recorder Competition.

Sören Sieg studied at the University of Music and Theatre Hamburg from 1991 to 1996. He has loved African music since 1984 and has travelled there extensively since 2015, a love which inspires much of his compositional work. In the recorder world, he has received commissions to write compositions for Seldom Sene, Hanke Brothers, Amsterdam Loeki Stardust Quartet, Flanders Recorder Quartet, and many more.


  1. The Flight of the Seagull 2:55
  2. The Wind from the Sea 3:54
  3. Alone on the Shore 4:06
  4. The Bath of the Mermaid 3:44
  5. Carnaval de Cádiz 2:50
  6. Ingxunguphalo 5:02
  7. Desired Departure 4:32
  8. Illuminated Inside 6:36
  9. Infinite Fountain 3:02
  10. Splendid Surprise 3:52
  11. Valse Triste 1:59
  12. The Very First Journey 5:07
  13. This One Moment 6:52
  14. The New Year 3:22
  15. Meditation 4:18

CHRIS ORTON recorder

COSSCD01 • Released 2024