Skip to content

Akademie Für Alte Musik Berlin • A Telemann Companion (7CD Boxset)

£16.66 excluding VAT (UK Export Price)
SKU HMX290878187

7 CD Boxset of Telemann recordings - over 8.5 hours of music!
Now available for only £19.99

This box offers a magisterial demonstration of the diversity of Telemann’s output: operatic, first of all, with an exceptional approach to the famous myth of Orpheus; sacred with Brockes’s account of the Passion of Christ, which inspired the composer to write a dense and powerful score; and finally orchestral with his concertante works with recorder (bravo Maestro Steger!) and a selection of overtures ‘à la française’ that constantly remind us of the influence of Italian and French music on his idiom. But beyond questions of genre, it is above all the incredible richness of his style that the expert Berlin musicians of the Akademie für Alte Musik have revealed to us over the past few years!


• Orpheus
• Brockes-Passion
• Suite "Alster" TWV 23:1
• Suite g-Moll TWV 55:g1
• Suite "La Chasse" F-Dur TWV 55:F9
• Ouvertüre verbunden mit einer tragikomischen Suite D-Dur TWV 55:D22
• Suite D-Dur TWV 55:D18
• Ouvertüre "Les Nations" B-Dur TWV 55:B5
• Violin Concerto "Les Grenouilles" A-Dur TWV 51:A4
• Outvertüre "La Bizarre" G-Dur TWV 55:G2
• Suite a-Moll TWV 55:a2
• Concerto C-Dur TVW 51:C1
• Ouvertüre "Hamburger Ebb und Flut" C-Dur TWV 55:C3

Akademie Für Alte Musik Berlin
RIAS Kammerchor Berlin
Maurice Steger recorder
René Jacobs conductor
Georg Kallweit conductor

HMX290878187 • Released 2017